I’d be pleased if you could see me now
To be in one’s element is a rare thing to bring to the table
There are far too ample times of shadow and unstable thoughts
Today is not one of those days

I awoke early, and read for hours – three
And in my bed made nest
I felt the best that I had of recent been
So much so I found myself observing aloud ‘This is nice’

I only really ‘thought’ again when I felt it to be around half past ten
When I told myself I’ll get showered and head out around eleven
When I actually checked the time, I should not have trusted my mind
Because it was already so
And such an in element day as it was I claimed aloud “What a perfect time to set out”
And I swept out of bed.

© Thomas Grice, 20/07/2017

Leave a Reply

